Manchurian with a twist… 

Hey My Pretty Readers….  I am back with another super easy yummy dish.

soyachunks_manchurian.jpg

Now before you get all excited about the twist that I have for the manchurian, let me just tell you where it all started…

Me and hubby we both love Chinese food. The other day we were out having the classic veg manchurian and I thought of making it at home. But the lazy me, cannot be bothered with laboring and chopping and mixing and what not. Plus, I don’t like to use cornstarch in my food it makes me bloated and I feel kinda weird. But then, how do I make manchurian without cornstarch or corn flour.

And then came the “Rice flour” to my rescue. And I thought why not use rice flour to make the manchurian.

As I was going through my fridge it dawned on me that I am out of groceries and I forgot to restock. And I was about to give up the idea of making the manchurian as there were too many obstacles. I just glanced at my sad little pantry and saw the jar of Soya Chunks. And I just decided to go for it.

Untitled.png

So here it is. I am going to share with you the recipe for Soya manchurian using rice flour.

So without any further ado, let’s get started…

Ingredients:

2 cups of soya chunks
1 cups rice flour
1 tsp chopped green chillies
1 tsp sesame seeds
cooking oil
1 clove garlic minced
1/2 cup chopped onions
1/2 cup chopped green onions
1 tsp finely chopped cilantro
1/2 cup chopped tomatoes
1 tsp green chillie sauce
1 tsp shezwan sauce
1/2 tsp soya sauce
1/2 tsp tomato ketchup
salt to taste

Directions:

Boil the Soya chunks on high flame for 5-10 mins until they become soft and tender. Then drain the water and dab them with a kitchen towel so they do not retain a lot of moisture.

Image result for boiling soya chunks pics

Next, in a bowl, mix rice flour in little water, it must have a little thick consistency and not too runny. Then add a tsp of green chillie sauce, shezwan sauce and mix well.

Add the soya chunks to this batter and coat each chunk evenly.

Heat some oil in a pan and shallow fry these coated soya chunks. Pull them out once they get a golden brown color.

Image result for frying soya chunks manchurian pics

Heat 1 tsp oil in another pan.
Add the minced garlic and green chillies.
As the chillies are spluttering, add the chopped onions.
Cook until the onions are browned and add the tomatoes.
Stir a bit and add green chillie sauce, shezwan sauce, soy suace and tomato ketchup.
Stir and cook for a minute.

Mix a little rice flour in litle water to make a slurry and add that to the pan. This will add nice body to the manchurian.
Then add the soya, little bit of the green onions and cilantro and stir again.

Remove to a serving dish and garnish with the leftover green onions and cilantro.

soyachunks_manchurian.jpg

Stay tuned for more such recipes…

xoxo

Leave a Reply

