Yummy Healthy Muffins

As I promised, my blog will include everything that I love, and here is something i truly love. Food!!!

Jokes aside, I have been on a constant battle with my health. I have been on roller coasters been at the peak of health and at its lowest too.

And all through these battles, I have exposed myself to an abundance of knowledge. I have uncovered the benefits of super-foods and the magical radical changes your body goes through if you channel your food journey in the right direction.

Without further ado, let me share with you this yummy recipe that is gluten free, dairy free and sugar free. But don’t be fooled by these terms and get bored. I guarantee it tastes so yum it will kick all those sugary foods in the bum.

muffin.jpg

 Cacao Amaranth Yummy Muffins
(makes 6 muffins)

In the pic you can see only 5 as I couldn’t control myself from eating one already. 😛

Ingredients:

2 cup Amaranth/Rajgira flour
1 tsp vanilla essense
a pinch of pink salt/sea salt
a pinch of baking soda
2 organic eggs
3/4 cup raw organic honey
2 tbsp cacao nibs
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup mango puree

If you have more of a sweet tooth, you may increase the quantity of honey and mango puree.

Now before I move over to the directions, let me talk about two of my star ingredients here: Amaranth flour better known as Rajgira in India and Cacao nibs.

Amarath/Rajgira flour is made from the seeds of the amaranth plant.
It is high in fibre and iron, with a fairly high protein level as well. It is also rich in calcium and antioxidants.
And did I mention that it is Gluten Free!!!

Cacao is the purest form of chocolate you can consume, which means it is raw and much less processed than cocoa powder or chocolate bars. Cacao is thought to be the highest source of antioxidants of all foods and the highest source of magnesium of all foods.
And cacao nibs are made from 100% cacao, they have 0 grams of sugar and 5 grams of fiber in a serving!

Now that we know about our yummy super-foods lets get going.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine amaranth flour, cacao nibs, pink salt/sea salt, baking soda and mix well.

In a separate bowl whisk together the eggs, olive oil, vanilla essence, honey and mango puree.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones and mix together until the batter is well combined.
Stir in walnuts/raisins/cherries as per your choice.

Grease muffin molds with olive oil and place them in the muffin tray. Pour the batter in.

Bake for 25 minutes or until muffins are ready.
PS: If toothpick inserted in the middle of the muffin comes out clean, it means your muffins are ready…..

I will post more of my yummy and healthy recipes. Stay tuned…

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

